Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Gun Safes · The rankings

Best gun safes with built-in humidity control: what is actually in the box

No gun safe controls humidity by itself. What the good ones give you is an interior outlet and, occasionally, a dehumidifier in the carton. That distinction decides this whole category.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Winchester Ranger 26

Winchester includes a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports. Nothing else to buy on day one.

Best built-in humidity control overallUL RSC7.1 /10Check price · Amazon
2
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Winchester Big Daddy

The same package one size up: a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light kit and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports.

Best larger safe with a dehumidifier includedUL RSC7.4 /10Check price · Amazon
3
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)

Steelwater ships a 200-gram dehumidifying pack and a UL-listed power supply with outlets and USB ports, on a 9-gauge, 932 lb body.

Best heavy safe with moisture kit includedAccess box5.8 /10Check price · Amazon
4
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

A built-in power box with two AC outlets that Cannon describes as being for a dehumidifier or lighting. The rod is not included; the wiring is.

Best power provision for a big collectionAccess box3.9 /10Where to buy
5
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Liberty Franklin 29

A deluxe electrical outlet kit with interior lighting included on current production, in the Payson, Utah range. Add your own rod.

Best American-built optionUL RSC7.4 /10Where to buy
6
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Browning Yellowstone 40

The full AXIS modular interior with LED lighting and an interior outlet as standard. Steel shelves rather than carpeted board, which matters for airflow.

Best interior fit-out with an outletUL RSC7.1 /10Where to buy

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

An analog hygrometer and thermometer showing indoor humidity
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

Rust is the damage most gun safe owners actually experience. Not a burglary, not a fire: a bloom of orange on a bolt carrier after a damp winter in a garage. So "built-in humidity control" is a sensible thing to shop for, and it is also one of the most loosely used phrases in the category.

No safe controls humidity, and none of these claims to

Worse, fire-rated safes work against you here. The gypsum-based fire board that gives a safe its rating holds moisture by design and releases it as it warms. That is exactly why the fire-safe makers on our home fire safe page ship desiccant packets and tell owners to air the safe regularly.

The three levels of "built-in"

  1. Dehumidifier included. The rod or pack is in the carton. Winchester does this on the Ranger 26 and Big Daddy; Steelwater includes a 200-gram dehumidifying pack with the HD593924.
  2. Powered outlet fitted. An interior AC outlet, often with USB, wired through the safe body so you can run a rod without trailing a lead through the door seal. Cannon, Liberty, Browning and Steelwater all publish this.
  3. A hole and a grommet. Many safes simply provide a pass-through for a cable. Workable, but it is not a feature, and it can compromise the door seal if you route the cable through it.

Only the first level saves you a purchase. The second level is the one that genuinely matters long term, because it means you never have to run a cable past a fire seal.

The picks side by side

EvidenceWinchester Ranger 26Winchester Big DaddySteelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DSLiberty Franklin 29Browning Yellowstone 40
TierUL RSCUL RSCAccess boxAccess boxUL RSCUL RSC
Burglary ratingUL-listed RSC (maker: "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC")UL-listed RSC (maker: "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC"; also "Residential Security Container 9L60")Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named)Not stated by the maker (California firearm safety device approval only)UL RSC Residential Security Container burglary rating (retailer spec sheet)UL-listed RSC. Maker (2026 catalog): "All Browning Safes (except the FMJ Series) carry the UL RSC (Underwriters Laboratories Residential Security Container) rating". The product page itself says only "UL Listed" and does not name the standard.
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 90 min at 1,400°F (maker calls it "proven"; no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 2 hr at 1,875°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 60 min; Cannon calls it "certified" but names no lab and states no test temperatureManufacturer claim: 110 min at 1,200°F; Liberty calls it "certified" but names no testing labManufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,400°F. ThermaBlock insulation plus a heat-activated Palusol door seal and external hinges; no independent lab named.
Body steel12 gauge, formed with robotic continuous welds11 gauge ("solid steel 11 ga. body formed with robotic continuous welds")9 gauge steel construction14 gauge11 gauge (Dual Fusion folded steel frame)12 gauge (7/64 in), maker-stated
LockUL-listed SecuRam electronic lock with backlit keypadUL-listed SecuRam electronic lock with backlit keypadEMP-proof digital keypad; biometric keypad upgrade offeredElectronic keypad (lock model not named)UL-listed S&G Direct Drive electronic lock (mechanical lock option)Electronic. Maker: "Browning Safes only uses UL-listed electromechanical safe locks" (its documents library covers S&G and SecuRam keypads); the lock model is not named on the product page.
Backup entry——High-security, double-bitted, drill-resistant bypass keyPhysical backup key—None. Maker: the electromechanical locks "do not come with a key backup because they are designed to be secure and tamper-proof".
Power——————
CapacityUp to 35 long guns and 6 handguns (maker-stated)Up to 46 long guns (maker-stated, with GunStiXX); 35.9 cu ftMaximum 39 long guns (13/13/13, maker-stated)73 firearms: 64 long guns, plus 8 handguns and 1 shotgun or AR on the door (maker-stated)29 long guns (maker-stated)40 long guns (10 on the door, 15 front row, 15 back row) plus 4 handguns, maker-stated; 30 cu ft
Weight594 lb956 lb932 lb622.7 lb760 lb563 lb
WarrantyLifetime Limited Warranty; lifetime free replacement after a fire or a burglary attackLifetime Limited Warranty; lifetime free replacement after a fire or a burglary attack (registration required; parts 5 years, UL-listed lock 5 years)Lifetime fire and burglary warranty (burglary coverage requires the safe to be properly anchored to the floor); 1-year full parts and laborLimited lifetime warranty for residential use (non-transferable; register within 30 days); locks 5-year limitedTransferable lifetime warranty on the safe (repair or replacement after fire or attempted break-in); 5-year lock warranty5 years materials and workmanship; the combination lock carries a 5-year warranty from the lock maker; electrical and lighting accessories 90 days (paid 10-year and lifetime lock extensions are offered).
Score7.1/107.4/105.8/103.9/107.4/107.1/10
Figures as published by each maker; each value links to its source. No maker publishes a humidity specification, because no safe regulates humidity.

The Power row is the one to read on this page. Where a maker does not publish an outlet, the cell is a dash, and that is the honest answer rather than an omission on our part.

How we ranked these

We have not bought or measured the interior of any of these safes. Each is scored on the gun-safe rubric at how we rate, and ordered on this page by what is actually fitted for moisture: a dehumidifier included first, a powered outlet second.

The Ranger 26 leads because Winchester puts the dehumidifier, the light and a two-outlet power dock in the box (Winchester). The Big Daddy is the same package with more room (Winchester). The Steelwater is third: a desiccant pack plus a UL-listed power supply on the heaviest body here (Steelwater). Cannon is fourth for a power box explicitly described as being for a dehumidifier (Cannon). Liberty is fifth with its deluxe outlet kit (Liberty), and Browning sixth with an interior outlet and steel AXIS shelving that lets air move (Browning).

We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-28 for every brand here; each product card shows its dated check.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 1

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best built-in humidity control overall

Winchester Ranger 26

UL RSC7.1 /10

Winchester includes a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports. Nothing else to buy on day one.

How the 7.1 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
7.5
Construction (20%)
7
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • Winchester states the UL RSC listing outright on the product page.
  • Twelve 1-in solid steel bolts (7 active, 5 dead-locking), external strap hinges and anti-pry tabs, per Winchester.
  • Includes a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports.
  • Sold on Amazon.

Where it falls short

  • The 60-minute fire rating is Winchester's own claim; the "UL rated" wording on the fire side refers to the fireboard, not a UL fire classification of the safe.
  • 12-gauge body: lighter steel than 10- or 11-gauge alternatives.

Skip this if…

…you want an independently verified fire rating: Winchester names no lab for the 60 minutes.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Ranger 26

Rank 2

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best larger safe with a dehumidifier included

Winchester Big Daddy

UL RSC7.4 /10

The same package one size up: a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light kit and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports.

How the 7.4 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
8
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • Winchester states the UL RSC listing outright on the product page, and names the RSC classification (9L60).
  • 11-gauge body with 14 1.25-inch bolts, dead-locking bolts on the hinge side and external strap hinges, per Winchester.
  • Ships with a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light kit and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports.
  • Sold on Amazon as well as through Winchester dealers.

Where it falls short

  • The 90-minute fire rating is Winchester's own claim; the "UL rated" wording on the fire side refers to the fireboard, not a UL fire classification of the safe.
  • 956 lb and 42 in wide: check the doorway, the route in and the floor before ordering.
  • Winchester does not publish the door's steel gauge.

Skip this if…

…your route in has a standard 36-inch doorway or you want an independently verified fire rating: this is a 42-inch-wide safe with a maker-claimed rating.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Big Daddy

Rank 3

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best heavy safe with moisture kit included

Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)

Access box5.8 /10

Steelwater ships a 200-gram dehumidifying pack and a UL-listed power supply with outlets and USB ports, on a 9-gauge, 932 lb body.

How the 5.8 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
9.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
6
Fit & usability (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • 9-gauge body steel, thicker than the 12 gauge California's standard asks for
  • 20 bolts of 1.5 in diameter cover all four sides of the door, including the hinge side
  • Anchor holes are reinforced with 1/4 in plate, and a bypass key covers a dead keypad
  • The warranty spells out that burglary coverage requires floor anchoring, so the bolt-down step is not optional

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing is named: heavy steel is published, but no lab has rated the burglary resistance
  • The 2-hour, 1,875°F fire rating is the maker's claim; no independent lab is named
  • 932 lb concentrated on a 39 x 24 in footprint is a floor-load question for anything but a slab or reinforced floor

Skip this if…

…you live upstairs or on a suspended wood floor you can't confirm will carry 932 lb, or you want a UL-listed burglary rating

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)

Rank 4

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best power provision for a big collection

Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

Access box3.9 /10

A built-in power box with two AC outlets that Cannon describes as being for a dehumidifier or lighting. The rod is not included; the wiring is.

How the 3.9 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
1
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
3.5
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Fit & usability (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
6

What the evidence supports

  • Door organizer holds 8 handguns and a shotgun or AR, per Cannon.
  • Seven active 4-in locking bolts and an anti-drill plate over the electronic lock.
  • Built-in power box with two AC outlets for a dehumidifier or lighting.

Where it falls short

  • No UL burglary listing: access-box tier despite its size.
  • The fire claim gives no test temperature, so it cannot be compared with ratings stated at 1,200°F.
  • Not on Amazon, and the listing's title and description name different finishes (gray vs. desert sand): confirm the finish before ordering.

Skip this if…

…you want a burglary rating or a fire rating with a stated test temperature: Cannon publishes neither for this model.

See it at Cannon Security Products (maker's store)

Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

Rank 5

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best American-built option

Liberty Franklin 29

UL RSC7.4 /10

A deluxe electrical outlet kit with interior lighting included on current production, in the Payson, Utah range. Add your own rod.

How the 7.4 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
7.5
Construction (20%)
8
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • 11-gauge body with ten 1/4-in-thick locking bars on the 29, dual relockers and a slip-clutch mechanism, per Liberty's spec table.
  • Deeper interior than Liberty's 12-gauge lines: 54.5 x 25.25 x 20.5 in on the 29, per Liberty.
  • Deluxe electrical outlet kit, with interior lighting included on current production, per Liberty.
  • Transferable lifetime warranty covering fire and attempted break-in.

Where it falls short

  • Not sold on Amazon: buy through a Liberty dealer or libertysafe.com.
  • The RSC designation comes from a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty's page says only "UL-Listed safe body".
  • The 110-minute fire rating is Liberty's own; no testing lab is named.

Skip this if…

…you want to buy through Amazon: the Franklin is sold through Liberty dealers and libertysafe.com.

See it at Liberty Safe (maker's site)

Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

Rank 6

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best interior fit-out with an outlet

Browning Yellowstone 40

UL RSC7.1 /10

The full AXIS modular interior with LED lighting and an interior outlet as standard. Steel shelves rather than carpeted board, which matters for airflow.

EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested

TierUL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools).
Burglary ratingUL-listed RSC. Maker (2026 catalog): "All Browning Safes (except the FMJ Series) carry the UL RSC (Underwriters Laboratories Residential Security Container) rating". The product page itself says only "UL Listed" and does not name the standard.
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,400°F. ThermaBlock insulation plus a heat-activated Palusol door seal and external hinges; no independent lab named.
Body steel12 gauge (7/64 in), maker-stated
Door steel1 in formed steel door, multiple layers, with a partial inner steel door plate and a U-shaped steel frame
LockElectronic. Maker: "Browning Safes only uses UL-listed electromechanical safe locks" (its documents library covers S&G and SecuRam keypads); the lock model is not named on the product page.
Backup entryNone. Maker: the electromechanical locks "do not come with a key backup because they are designed to be secure and tamper-proof".
Bolt-downAnchoring instructions and hardware are covered in the owner's manual: "Placing your safe on a concrete floor and anchoring it to the floor provides the maximum protection for your valuables."
CA DOJNot claimed for this model. Browning's 2026 catalog names only one series for it: "The FMJ Series carries the California DOJ rating." Ask the dealer before buying into California.
Capacity40 long guns (10 on the door, 15 front row, 15 back row) plus 4 handguns, maker-stated; 30 cu ft
Exterior dimensions58 x 36 x 24.5 in (H x W x D; 27 in deep with the hub and handle); interior 53.5 x 33 x 18.5 in
Weight563 lb
Warranty5 years materials and workmanship; the combination lock carries a 5-year warranty from the lock maker; electrical and lighting accessories 90 days (paid 10-year and lifetime lock extensions are offered).
Burglary rating (label wording)Owner's manual: "Browning Safes with the UL tool attack label which certifies the design and construction have been tested by Underwriters Laboratories and passed the Residential Security Container test specifications." Check the label on the safe you are buying.
Locking bolts7 chrome-plated hardened steel bolts, 1 in, on both sides of the door only (no top or bottom bolts stated)
Warranty (fire and break-in)Lifetime repair or replace after an attempted break-in, a break-in or a fire, for the original purchaser of a safe built after January 1, 2006 — but only "provided the purchaser's homeowners insurance does not cover the claim". Needs a police or fire report, an insurance denial and proof of purchase; contents, acts of God, terrorism and war and commercial use are excluded; the replacement comes back curbside.
Recall checkSep 24, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Browning Safes or ProSteel Security Products. A CPSC recall-database search returns five Browning notices (pistol holsters 2020, a junior hoodie 2013, Umarex air pistols 2011, knife sheaths 2009, flashlight batteries 2004) and none for a safe; a search for ProSteel returns nothing.
How the 7.1 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
6.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
7.5
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
6.5

What the evidence supports

  • 30 cu ft and 36 inches of width at the bottom of Browning's range: more usable room than the Sporter for a similar weight.
  • The only series here Browning rates at 1,400°F rather than 1,200°F, which is the temperature most rivals quote.
  • 563 lb, so two people and a proper appliance dolly can realistically place it on a ground floor.
  • Carries the same range-wide UL RSC statement as Browning's expensive series.

Where it falls short

  • Seven bolts on two sides is the thinnest bolt coverage of any Browning we looked at; nothing is stated for the top or bottom of the door.
  • Standard adjustable shelving, not the AXIS system, and the page lists no interior light or outlet.
  • No country of manufacture stated, and the 60-minute fire time is the shortest in the range.

Skip this if…

…pry resistance is your first concern: seven bolts on two sides leaves the top and bottom of the door with nothing stated, and the Rawhide doubles the count for one step up.

See it at Browning Safes (maker's store)

Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

What to look for

  1. An interior outlet, published as a spec. Not a cable pass-through. An outlet means the wiring already crosses the body without touching the door seal.
  2. Whether a dehumidifier is included. Winchester and Steelwater include one; most brands do not. It is a small saving and a useful signal about how the maker thinks.
  3. Shelving that lets air move. Steel AXIS-style shelves and open racking beat wall-to-wall carpeted board for airflow.
  4. Enough outlets for what you will run. A rod and a light is two. Cannon and Winchester both publish two.
  5. Where the safe is going. A conditioned interior room may need nothing at all; a detached garage on a slab needs the outlet and the rod and a hygrometer.
  6. Coverage against your interior volume. Dehumidifier rods and canisters are rated in cubic feet. Match the rating to the safe, not to the price.

Measure before you dehumidify

The single most common mistake in this area is buying a drying solution without knowing whether there is a problem. Put a hygrometer in the safe and leave it two weeks before you spend anything.

You are looking for a stable reading in a sensible band, and more importantly for the absence of big swings: a safe that cycles between dry and damp condenses moisture onto cold steel every time. Our guide to gun safe humidity levels sets out the target range and how to read it. If the room itself is the problem, a room dehumidifier will do more than anything inside the safe.

Which unit to run in that outlet

  • A heated rod draws mains power continuously and works by keeping the interior slightly above ambient so moisture does not condense. This is what the built-in outlets are designed for.
  • A rechargeable desiccant unit needs no permanent power and gets plugged in to dry out periodically. Better for a safe with no outlet.
  • A silica gel canister needs no power at all and is reactivated in an oven. Cheapest, highest maintenance.
  • A wireless hygrometer so you can see the number without opening the door.

Our dehumidifier picks rank the units themselves on published coverage and power, and electric vs rechargeable dehumidifiers compares the two approaches directly.

If your safe has no outlet

Most safes do not, including several excellent ones. You have three options, in order of preference:

  1. Use a rechargeable or desiccant unit. No power required, nothing routed through the door.
  2. Use the maker's own pass-through if one exists, following their instructions. Some safes have a factory grommet precisely for this.
  3. Have an outlet fitted by a safe technician. Possible on many safes, and not a DIY job: drilling a safe body can void the warranty and can compromise a fire seal or a relocker.

What not to do is trap a cable in the door seal. It holds the door fractionally open, wears the cable, and on a fire-rated safe it compromises the one thing the fire rating depends on.

Common mistakes

  • Buying a safe for "humidity control" and finding the feature is an empty socket.
  • Running a dehumidifier without ever measuring the humidity, so you never learn whether it worked.
  • Trapping the power cable in the door seal.
  • Fitting a rod rated for 100 cu ft in a 60 cu ft safe and assuming more is better.
  • Ignoring the room: a damp garage beats any rod inside a steel box.
  • Forgetting that fire-rated insulation holds moisture on purpose, so a fire safe needs more attention, not less.
  • Drilling your own outlet through a safe body and voiding the warranty.

How we scored this

Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • Published. Included-accessory and outlet claims quoted from each maker's page and dated 2026-09-28; CPSC recall searches run per brand.

Questions

Frequently asked

Do gun safes have built-in humidity control?
Not in the sense of regulating humidity. No gun safe we track publishes a humidity specification or fits a sensor. What the better ones fit is an interior electrical outlet, and a few include a dehumidifier rod or desiccant pack in the box. Winchester includes one with the Ranger 26 and Big Daddy.
Which gun safe comes with a dehumidifier included?
Of the safes we track: the Winchester Ranger 26 and Winchester Big Daddy, which both ship with a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports; and the Steelwater HD593924, which includes a 200-gram dehumidifying pack and a UL-listed power supply.
Does a gun safe need a dehumidifier?
Measure first. A safe in a conditioned interior room may need nothing; a safe in a garage, a basement or on a slab usually does. Put a hygrometer inside for two weeks before buying anything, and read our humidity guide.
What humidity should a gun safe be kept at?
The aim is a stable, moderate level rather than a single magic number, and avoiding swings matters more than the reading itself, because condensation forms when warm damp air meets cold steel. Our humidity guide covers the target range and how to measure it.
Can I add an outlet to a gun safe that does not have one?
Have a safe technician do it, or avoid the issue with a rechargeable desiccant unit that needs no permanent power. Drilling a safe body yourself risks the warranty, the fire seal and, on some safes, a relocker. Never trap a cable in the door seal.
Does a fire-rated gun safe make humidity worse?
It can. The gypsum-based fire board that provides the rating holds moisture by design, which is why consumer fire-safe makers ship desiccant packets and tell owners to open the safe regularly. A fire-rated safe needs more moisture attention than a plain steel one, not less.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. Winchester Safes — Ranger 26 product page (dehumidifier, light and power dock included)
  2. Winchester Safes — Big Daddy product page (dehumidifier, light kit and power dock included)
  3. Steelwater Gun Safes — HD593924 product page (200 g dehumidifying pack, UL-listed power supply)
  4. Cannon Security Products — Fortified 73 product page (power box with two AC outlets)
  5. Liberty Safe — Franklin gun safe product page (deluxe electrical outlet kit)
  6. Browning Safes — Yellowstone Series 40 product page (interior outlet and LED lighting)
  7. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-28)

We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

More in Gun Safes