Setup & Safe Storage · Head to head
Electric vs rechargeable gun safe dehumidifiers: which one fits your safe?
A plug-in rod asks for an outlet and nothing else. A rechargeable asks for no outlet but a regular recharge. Your safe's power access usually settles it.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The contenders
Side by side
Stock photoElectric rod: for a safe with power
Lockdown Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod (18 in.)
Accessory7.0 /10Runs continuously from a 110-120V outlet with nothing to recharge. Rated for up to 200 cu ft at 18 in., with a limited lifetime warranty on Golden Rod products.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod (18 in.)
Stock photoRechargeable: for a safe without power
Eva-Dry E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier
Accessory6.9 /10Cordless in the safe; up to 13 oz of moisture per charge, then a 10-12 hour recharge from a wall outlet when the beads change color.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Eva-Dry E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier
Stock photoAlternate: the slim rechargeable
Hornady Rechargeable Gun Safe Dehumidifier 95900
Accessory6.8 /10The same 333 cu ft rating as the Eva-Dry in a 1.5 in. thick body with a mounting bracket, and a published 60W power rating.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Rechargeable Gun Safe Dehumidifier 95900
Stock photoAlternate: no power at all
Hydrosorbent SG-750 Silica Gel Canister (750 g)
Accessory5.8 /10A steel canister of silica gel with no plug, rated for up to 57 cu ft, reactivated in a 325°F oven for at least 3 hours.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hydrosorbent SG-750 Silica Gel Canister (750 g)

One disclosure first: we haven't handled or tested any of these units. This is a comparison of published specs, stated listings and warranty terms, with a dated CPSC recall search behind each product. The scores come from the accessory rubric on how we rate, and the two main contenders sit almost level: the Golden Rod at 7.0 and the E-333 at 6.9. The choice is about your safe, not a clear winner.
The specs side by side
How each type works
Electric rods
A dehumidifier rod doesn't trap water. Lockdown says the Golden Rod works by slightly increasing the air temperature inside the gun safe, which lets warm air circulate continually. Liberty Safe describes plug-in safe dehumidifiers the same way: they work by heating an electric element. The rod stays plugged in all the time.
Rechargeable units
A rechargeable holds a desiccant that absorbs moisture until it's saturated. Eva-Dry's E-333 uses silica gel beads that change color when it's time to recharge; the maker rates it for up to 13 oz of moisture per charge. To recharge, you take it out of the safe and plug it into a standard outlet for approximately 10-12 hours. Hornady's 95900 works the same way, with color-shifting crystals and a 120V, 60W rating.
Passive desiccant
The Hydrosorbent SG-750 is a steel canister of indicating silica gel with no electronics at all. When the gel is saturated, Hydrosorbent's instructions are to put the entire canister in a 325 degree F oven for at least 3 hours, without removing the cap with the inspection window.
Power: the deciding question
A rod needs an outlet, and its cord has to get to one. Safes handle this in three ways:
- A factory outlet inside. Hollon lists "Electric Outlet Installed" for its Republic RG-22. A rod plugs straight in.
- A cord hole. Winchester lists a small power cord exit hole at back of safe on the Bandit 14, so a rod's plug can reach a wall outlet behind the safe.
- Nothing. Hollon's series page lists no electrical features for the Crescent Shield CS-12E. Here a rechargeable or passive desiccant is the straightforward answer.
If your safe has no power access and you're tempted to add a hole, ask the safe maker first. A new hole goes through the body and any fire lining, and warranty terms vary. Our explainer on safe fire ratings covers what that lining is there to do.
One more power detail: Lockdown lists the Golden Rod as a 110-120 volt AC device but doesn't publish its wattage, so its running draw isn't something we can report. Hornady's 60W figure for the 95900 applies while the unit is plugged in to recharge.
Maintenance: continuous vs cycles
This is the real trade. A rod asks for nothing once it's installed. Lockdown says its rod installs horizontally at the lowest point in a gun safe, and brackets are included. After that, you just keep it plugged in.
A rechargeable asks for a routine. When the indicator changes, the unit has stopped pulling moisture. You take it out, recharge it for most of a day, and put it back. How often depends on the humidity in your room and how often the safe is opened; Eva-Dry doesn't publish an interval. The practical risk is simple: a saturated unit left in the safe for weeks is doing nothing.
The canister asks for an oven. The Hydrosorbent needs no outlet at any point, but three hours or more at 325°F is a bigger chore than plugging something in overnight.
| Type | Needs power in the safe | Routine | Downtime |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electric rod (Lockdown Golden Rod) | Yes | None once installed | None |
| Rechargeable (Eva-Dry E-333) | No | Recharge when the beads change color | About 10-12 hours per recharge |
| Rechargeable (Hornady 95900) | No | Recharge when the crystals change color | Recharge time not published |
| Passive canister (Hydrosorbent SG-750) | No | Oven reactivation when the gel changes color | At least 3 hours in the oven |
Coverage: closer than the numbers suggest
On paper the rechargeables cover more space: 333 cu ft for both the E-333 and the Hornady, against 200 cu ft for the 18 in. Golden Rod and 57 cu ft for the Hydrosorbent. None of the product pages explains how its figure was measured, so treat them as maker claims.
More useful is how those numbers compare with a gun safe. Hollon lists the CS-12E's interior at 7.36 cu ft and the RG-22's at 16.93 cu ft; Winchester lists 13.8 cu ft for the Bandit 14. Every unit here is rated for more than that, so for most gun safes the coverage figure won't decide between a rod and a rechargeable.
What does matter is that the two types work differently over time. A rod keeps working as long as it has power. A rechargeable's per-charge capacity, 13 oz for the E-333, sets how long it lasts between recharges in your conditions. A safe in a humid room, or one that's opened often, will use up that capacity faster.
Safety listings and warranties
None of these makers states a UL or ETL listing on its product page. That matters most for the rod, which is plugged in around the clock inside a closed box. Intertek describes its ETL mark as proof that a product has been independently tested and certified to applicable safety standards. A rechargeable is plugged in only while recharging, outside the safe, and the canister never is. Missing evidence isn't proof of a problem, but it's why every product here scores low on that line.
On warranties, the rod has the edge. Lockdown gives Golden Rod products a limited lifetime warranty for the original owner with proof of purchase. Eva-Dry offers a limited warranty against defects that must be registered within 30 days, but doesn't state its length. Hornady's product page states no warranty terms for the 95900, and Hydrosorbent publishes none for the canister.
Choosing a rod length
Rods come in lengths, and the length sets the rating. Lockdown rates its standard rod at about 100 cu ft for the 12 in. and about 200 cu ft for the 18 in., and sells the Golden Rod in 12, 18, 24 and 36 in. lengths. Since the rod mounts horizontally at the bottom of the safe, the practical limit is the width of the safe's floor. Measure it before you order.
What neither type does
A dehumidifier protects the contents from moisture, nothing more. It won't help a safe sitting in standing water, and it adds nothing against a child, a burglar or a fire. The safe still has to be anchored, shut and locked to do its main job.
Common mistakes with each type
- Rod mounted high. Lockdown's instruction is the lowest point in the safe, horizontally. Mounting it on an upper shelf goes against the maker's guidance.
- Rod cord pinched by the door. Route it along the back wall and through the cord hole, and close the door slowly the first time to check.
- Rechargeable left saturated. Once the beads or crystals change color, it has stopped working. Recharge it promptly, and set a reminder to check the indicator.
- Canister opened before baking. Hydrosorbent's instructions are to reactivate the whole unit without disassembling it or removing the cap with the inspection window.
- No hygrometer. With any of the three types, the only proof it's working is a reading from inside the safe.
Who should buy which
- Your safe has an outlet or cord hole: the Golden Rod. It's the lowest-effort option and has the best published warranty here.
- Your safe has no power, and shelf space is fine: the Eva-Dry E-333, for its published per-charge capacity and recharge time. The larger E-500 in our dehumidifier roundup goes longer between charges.
- Your safe has no power and space is tight: the Hornady 95900, at 1.5 in. thick with a mounting bracket.
- You want no electricity involved: the Hydrosorbent SG-750, provided the oven routine doesn't bother you.
- Your safe is in a garage or basement: choose any of the above and watch a hygrometer closely, or reconsider the location. Our guide on where to put a gun safe weighs the options.
Whichever you choose, measure the result. Liberty Safe, citing the NRA, puts the recommended range for a gun safe at 30% to 50% humidity, and our gun safe humidity guide covers how to read and hold it.
In detail
The contenders, in full
Stock photoElectric rod: for a safe with power
Lockdown Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod (18 in.)
Runs continuously from a 110-120V outlet with nothing to recharge. Rated for up to 200 cu ft at 18 in., with a limited lifetime warranty on Golden Rod products.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker-rated coverage is up to 200 cu ft at the 18 in. length
- No recharge cycle: it runs continuously once plugged in
- Mounting brackets and a quick-plug attachment are included (maker)
- Limited lifetime warranty and made in the USA (maker)
Where it falls short
- Needs power: the cord has to reach an outlet, usually through the safe's power pass-through
- Lockdown's page states no UL or ETL listing and no wattage
- It warms and circulates air rather than collecting water, so pair it with a hygrometer to confirm the result
Skip this if…
…your safe has no power pass-through and you won't add one; a rechargeable desiccant unit needs no cord in the safe.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod (18 in.)
Stock photoRechargeable: for a safe without power
Eva-Dry E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier
Cordless in the safe; up to 13 oz of moisture per charge, then a 10-12 hour recharge from a wall outlet when the beads change color.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Capacity | Absorbs up to 13 oz of moisture per charge (maker-stated) |
| Coverage | Up to 333 cu ft (maker-stated) |
| Power | Cordless in use; recharges by plugging into a 110-120V outlet for about 10-12 hours |
| Warranty | Limited warranty against manufacturer defects; must be registered within 30 days of purchase (length not stated) |
| Safety listing | No UL or ETL listing stated on the maker's product page |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Eva-Dry dehumidifiers in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.9 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7.5
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- No cord inside the safe, so no pass-through or drilling needed
- Color-changing beads show when it needs recharging (maker)
- Renewable silica gel: no refills or replacement packs (maker)
- Maker lists safes and storage boxes among its intended uses
Where it falls short
- Has to come out of the safe and be plugged in for about 10-12 hours each recharge
- Eva-Dry's page states no UL or ETL listing for the recharging plug
- Warranty length is not published, and the warranty must be registered within 30 days
Skip this if…
…you want set-and-forget humidity control; a plug-in rod runs continuously with no recharge cycle.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Eva-Dry E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier
Stock photoAlternate: the slim rechargeable
Hornady Rechargeable Gun Safe Dehumidifier 95900
The same 333 cu ft rating as the Eva-Dry in a 1.5 in. thick body with a mounting bracket, and a published 60W power rating.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Exterior dimensions | 6.0 x 4.1 x 1.5 in. |
| Weight | 1.0 lb (450 g) |
| Coverage | Up to 333 cu ft (maker-stated effective volume) |
| Power | Cordless in use; recharges from a 110V wall outlet; rated 120V 60Hz 60W |
| Safety listing | No UL or ETL listing stated on the maker's product page |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady Security products in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.8 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Maker publishes power draw (60W), dimensions and weight
- Quick-connect mounting bracket for safes, closets or pantries (maker)
- Color-shifting crystals signal when to recharge (maker)
- 1.5 in. thick body takes little shelf space
Where it falls short
- Recharge time is not stated on the product page
- No UL or ETL listing stated
- Warranty terms are not stated on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want to skip a recharge routine entirely; choose a plug-in rod if your safe has power.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Rechargeable Gun Safe Dehumidifier 95900
Stock photoAlternate: no power at all
Hydrosorbent SG-750 Silica Gel Canister (750 g)
A steel canister of silica gel with no plug, rated for up to 57 cu ft, reactivated in a 325°F oven for at least 3 hours.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 750 g of blue-to-pink indicating silica gel (an orange-to-clear version is also sold) |
| Exterior dimensions | Steel canister, 4 in. diameter x 6 in. high |
| Coverage | Up to 57 cu ft of enclosed space (maker-stated) |
| Power | No power in use; reactivate the whole canister in a 325°F oven for at least 3 hours when the indicator changes color |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hydrosorbent dehumidifiers in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.8 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 5
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 6
- Safety listing (20%)
- 5.5
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No cord, no plug and no electronics
- Heavy-duty steel canister (maker)
- Inspection window shows when to reactivate
- Maker says no refills or replacement parts are needed
Where it falls short
- Lowest maker-rated coverage in our lineup (57 cu ft), so check it against your safe's interior volume
- Reactivation ties up your oven at 325°F for 3 hours or more
- No warranty terms published
Skip this if…
…you don't want to bake a canister in your kitchen oven; a plug-in-recharge unit like the Eva-Dry E-333 is simpler.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hydrosorbent SG-750 Silica Gel Canister (750 g)
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is a dehumidifier rod or a rechargeable better for a gun safe?
Do dehumidifier rods use a lot of electricity?
How often do you recharge a gun safe dehumidifier?
Where should a dehumidifier rod go in a gun safe?
Can you dehumidify a gun safe with no electricity at all?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best gun safe dehumidifiersAll seven dehumidifiers we rank, plus a hygrometer.
- Gun safe humidity levelsThe target range and how to hold it through the seasons.
- Where to put a gun safeHow location changes humidity, fire and theft risk.
- Best gun safe lighting kitsThe other power-port decision: battery or plug-in lights.
Receipts
Sources
- Lockdown — Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod product page
- Lockdown — Dehumidifier Rod 12 in. product page (installation guidance)
- Liberty Safe — The Impact of Humidity on Firearms (cites the NRA's 30-50% recommendation)
- Eva-Dry — E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier product page
- Hornady — Rechargeable Gun Safe Dehumidifier product page
- Hydrosorbent — Reactivation instructions
- Intertek — ETL Listed Mark
- Hollon Safe — Crescent Shield gun safe series (CS-12E)
- Hollon Safe — 2 Hour Republic gun safe series (RG-22)
- Winchester Safes — Bandit 14 product page
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.