Setup & Safe Storage · Gift guide
Gifts for new gun owners: starter storage that keeps a first gun locked up
Someone you know just bought their first gun. The most useful gift is a locked place to keep it, one they can open quickly and nobody else can.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD) A mechanical push-button lock with no batteries to forget, room for up to two handguns and a CA DOJ roster listing. It ranks above the higher-scoring Fort Knox because it's lighter and can be cable-tethered or bracket-mounted instead of bolted down, which suits a first apartment. | Best first handgun safeAccess box | 8.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Fort Knox Original Pistol Box The heaviest published steel among the pistol boxes here (10-gauge body, 3/16 in. door) and a battery-free lock. It scores highest, but it's built to be bolted down, with no security cable, so it's second for a gift. | Best if they can bolt it downAccess box | 8.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() GunVault MicroVault MV500 A 16-gauge box with a keypad designed to be worked by touch and a backup key. The CA DOJ roster lists it for firearms up to 10.5 in. long. | Best small keypad boxAccess box | 7.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() SecureIt Fast Box Model 47 A 14-gauge long-gun box that mounts under a bed, in a closet or on a wall, with keypad, fingerprint and key entry. It holds one long gun up to 46.5 in. horizontally, per SecureIt. | Best if their first gun is a rifle or shotgunAccess box | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Hornady Lock Box XL (95210) A 16-gauge key-lock box with a 4 ft cable that Hornady says secures to a vehicle seat or heavy furniture. No batteries, and it's on California's roster. | Best simple key lock boxAccess box | 6.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Vaultek LifePod 10 A weather-resistant polymer case with a keypad, backup keys and a steel cable, for handguns up to 7.75 in. long. It keeps out curious hands, not tools. | Best portable case for a compact pistolAccess box | 6.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 7 | ![]() Lockdown 15 in. Cable Gun Lock Listed by model number on California's safety device roster. It scores well but ranks last because a new handgun owner may already have a lock from the dealer, and a lock doesn't stop theft. | Best add-on lockAccessory | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

What a first-time gun owner needs most
A new gun owner needs a place to keep the gun that is locked, quick for them to open and hard for anyone else to open. That's especially true in a home with children or visitors. A RAND review of storage research notes that multiple stakeholder groups recommend firearms be stored locked and unloaded, with ammunition stored separately. The same review concludes that, among efforts to change how owners store their guns, distributing storage devices might be most effective. In other words, a storage gift is a useful one.
You don't need to know anything about guns to buy well here. You need the answers to a few questions about the gun and the home, covered below, and a sense of what each type of storage does.
What they may already have
Before you buy a basic lock, know that the new owner may already have one. Federal law makes it unlawful for a licensed dealer to sell or transfer a handgun to a non-licensee unless the buyer is provided with a secure gun storage or safety device for it (18 U.S.C. 922(z), with limited exceptions). The law's definition covers both locks and locked containers such as lock boxes and safes. That rule covers handguns, not rifles or shotguns.
California goes further. Its DOJ says every firearm purchased in the state must be accompanied by a firearm safety device listed on the DOJ roster, unless the buyer shows they own a gun safe that meets the state's standard. And Project ChildSafe, a program of the National Shooting Sports Foundation, says it has handed out more than 42 million free gun locks since 1998; its site lists law-enforcement partners by state and city where you can get a free safety kit.
The practical upshot: someone who bought a handgun from a dealer should already have received a lock or other device, so a gift that goes a step further, a real quick-access safe, is the better present. A new rifle or shotgun owner outside California may have nothing at all.
Lock, lock box or quick-access safe: the basics
- Cable or trigger lock. Disables the gun itself. It doesn't stop someone carrying the gun away. Project ChildSafe's brochure, quoted by RAND, says a gun lock should be used as an additional safety precaution and not as a substitute for secure storage.
- Lock box. A small keyed or keypad box, often tethered by a steel cable. It keeps children and casual hands out and travels well. It won't stop someone with tools.
- Quick-access safe. A heavier steel box made to be bolted to furniture, a shelf or the floor, with a lock the owner can open fast. It's still an access-control container, not a burglary-rated safe.
- Gun safe. A large safe, ideally with an independent burglary listing. That's usually a purchase the owner makes for themselves later, once they know how many guns they'll keep.
Our comparison of a trigger lock vs a gun safe goes further into what each one prevents.
How we chose and ordered these
Every pick comes from our evidence-checked product list. We haven't bought or tested any of them; scores come from published specs, California roster listings and dated CPSC recall searches, explained on how we rate. We ordered the list for someone buying a first storage device as a gift: the more flexible the fit, the higher it sits. That's why the V-Line Top Draw XD leads the higher-scoring Fort Knox box, which has to be bolted down, and why the cable lock comes last despite its score.
For a handgun: the Top Draw XD and the Fort Knox box both use mechanical Simplex push-button locks, so there's no battery to die. The GunVault MV500 is the keypad option, with a low-battery light that flashes while you enter the code, per GunVault. For more choices, see our best handgun safes.
The Top Draw XD is a 16-gauge, top-opening box with an internal cover over the lock and a limited lifetime warranty on V-Line's mechanical-lock boxes. The Fort Knox box is heavier in every published respect: a 10-gauge body, a 3/16 in. plate door and 22 lb, with a limited lifetime warranty. The MV500 adds a warranty feature worth knowing: GunVault covers damage from fire, burglary or attempted burglary for 5 years.
For a rifle or shotgun: the SecureIt Fast Box 47 holds one long gun up to 46.5 in. lying flat, or two firearms with optics standing upright, per SecureIt.
For travel or a car: the Hornady Lock Box XL and the Vaultek LifePod 10 are portable and cable-tethered. The Hornady is steel with a key lock; the Vaultek is polymer with a keypad.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest first handgun safe
V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
A mechanical push-button lock with no batteries to forget, room for up to two handguns and a CA DOJ roster listing. It ranks above the higher-scoring Fort Knox because it's lighter and can be cable-tethered or bracket-mounted instead of bolted down, which suits a first apartment.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel, pry-resistant clamshell design |
| Lock | Genuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock with a heavy-duty internal lock cover; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: mechanical lock with no batteries (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Pre-punched mounting holes; optional quick-release bracket or steel security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Top Draw XD-S BLK XD'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved' |
| Capacity | Up to two handguns, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 12.25 x 9.5 x 2.75 in (add 0.75 in for the knob) |
| Weight | 12 lb (ship weight) |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for V-Line handgun boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Mechanical Simplex lock: no batteries to die
- Internal steel lock cover, a 3/8-inch welded lock block and a continuous hinge welded at one end, per V-Line
- CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA (V-Line notes some lock parts are imported)
Where it falls short
- 16-gauge steel is lighter than the Fort Knox box's 10-gauge body
- The mounting bracket and security cable are extra-cost options
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…you want the heaviest steel available in a pistol box; Fort Knox publishes a 10-gauge body.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
Rank 2
Stock photoBest if they can bolt it down
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
The heaviest published steel among the pistol boxes here (10-gauge body, 3/16 in. door) and a battery-free lock. It scores highest, but it's built to be bolted down, with no security cable, so it's second for a gift.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 10-gauge steel body |
| Door steel | 3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate |
| Lock | Simplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in) |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 12.5 x 4.35 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 22 lb |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Fort Knox pistol boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 9.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
- Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
- Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA
Where it falls short
- About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
- No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
- No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move
Skip this if…
…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Rank 3
Stock photoBest small keypad box
GunVault MicroVault MV500
A 16-gauge box with a keypad designed to be worked by touch and a backup key. The CA DOJ roster lists it for firearms up to 10.5 in. long.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel |
| Lock | No-Eyes keypad, programmable 3- to 6-digit code |
| Backup entry | High-security manual key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'MV 500' (firearms up to 10.5 in long, 6 in wide, 2 in high) |
| Power | Alkaline batteries; the low-battery light flashes while you enter your code, and GunVault suggests changing batteries at least every 6 months |
| Warranty | 1 year on workmanship and materials; 5 years for damage from fire, burglary or attempted burglary |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for GunVault safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No-Eyes keypad is designed for entry by touch in low or no light, per GunVault
- Anti-pry tabs, a reinforced U-lock and concealed hinges, per GunVault
- Listed on California's roster
- Five-year coverage for burglary or attempted-burglary damage
Where it falls short
- GunVault's product page lists no dimensions, weight or battery type
- Keypad codes are only 3 to 6 digits
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…your handgun is longer than 10.5 inches; that's the fit the CA DOJ roster lists for this box.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to GunVault MicroVault MV500
Rank 4
Stock photoBest if their first gun is a rifle or shotgun
SecureIt Fast Box Model 47
A 14-gauge long-gun box that mounts under a bed, in a closet or on a wall, with keypad, fingerprint and key entry. It holds one long gun up to 46.5 in. horizontally, per SecureIt.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14 gauge welded steel |
| Lock | HSFA lock with a backlit 4-digit push-button keypad and a capacitive fingerprint scanner |
| Backup entry | Manual key override (2 override keys); USB-C power port (battery and USB-C cord not included) |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes and included hardware; mounts horizontally or vertically |
| Capacity | One long gun up to 46.5 in stored horizontally, or two firearms with optics (such as an AR-15 and a shotgun) stored vertically |
| Exterior dimensions | 47 x 13 x 6.5 in |
| Weight | 47 lb in the maker's spec table (the description says 50 lb) |
| Warranty | Lifetime against defects in material and workmanship; electronic locks 2 years |
| Locking bolts | 3-point locking system; full-length piano-hinge door |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SecureIt gun safes or cabinets in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 4
- Mounting (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- 14-gauge welded steel with a 3-point lock and full-length piano hinge in a 6.5 in deep profile
- Keypad, fingerprint and a manual key override, with USB-C power as a fallback
- Mounting hardware included; fits under a bed, in a closet or on a wall
- Takes optic-equipped rifles when mounted vertically
Where it falls short
- Stops children and casual hands, not a burglar with tools: no burglary or fire rating
- Holds only one or two long guns
- Battery and USB-C cord are not included, and the page lists two weights (47 lb and 50 lb)
Skip this if…
…you need to store more than two long guns or want protection from fire
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SecureIt Fast Box Model 47
Rank 5
Stock photoBest simple key lock box
Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
A 16-gauge key-lock box with a 4 ft cable that Hornady says secures to a vehicle seat or heavy furniture. No batteries, and it's on California's roster.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel housing |
| Lock | Steel barrel key lock, two keys included; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: key lock with no electronics |
| Bolt-down | 4 ft steel security cable rated to 1,500 lb; maker says it secures to a vehicle seat or heavy furniture |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as model '95210' |
| Capacity | Fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10 x 7 x 2 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 6.5 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Key lock, so there are no batteries to drain in a parked car
- Cable rated to 1,500 lb secures to a vehicle seat or other stationary object, per Hornady
- Listed on California's roster
- 16-gauge steel housing
Where it falls short
- Key-only entry: no keypad or quick-access method
- A cable tether is less secure than a bolted-in vehicle safe
- No warranty terms on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want fast one-handed access; this box opens only with its key.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
Rank 6
Stock photoBest portable case for a compact pistol
Vaultek LifePod 10
A weather-resistant polymer case with a keypad, backup keys and a steel cable, for handguns up to 7.75 in. long. It keeps out curious hands, not tools.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | None: Vaultek's FAQ says its safes 'are not fire rated' |
| Water rating | Maker says water resistant, airtight, dust proof and floats (no rating cited) |
| Body steel | No steel body: non-metal T3 polymer case |
| Lock | Backlit capacitive keypad, 4- to 8-digit code; single anti-impact latch |
| Backup entry | Two manual keys; micro-USB port powers the lock if the 9V battery dies |
| Bolt-down | 48 in steel security cable included; no bolt-down holes listed |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'LifePod VLP10-BK' |
| Capacity | Handguns up to 7.75 in long, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 7 x 2.25 in |
| Weight | 2 lb 3 oz |
| Power | 9V alkaline battery (not included), up to 1 year |
| Warranty | 2 years total: 1-year manufacturer's warranty plus 1 year on registration |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Vaultek safes or LifePod cases in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 5.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Keypad, two backup keys and a micro-USB port to power the lock if the battery dies
- Maker says it meets TSA guidelines for traveling with a handgun
- Listed on California's roster (black model VLP10-BK)
- Weather-sealed case with a keyway lockout that can be enabled from inside, per Vaultek
Where it falls short
- Polymer, not steel: it keeps out curious hands, not tools
- Fits handguns only up to 7.75 inches long
- Tethers with a cable; no bolt-down holes are listed
Skip this if…
…you need to store a full-size pistol or want something sturdier than a portable, cable-tethered case.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek LifePod 10
Rank 7
Stock photoBest add-on lock
Lockdown 15 in. Cable Gun Lock
Listed by model number on California's safety device roster. It scores well but ranks last because a new handgun owner may already have a lock from the dealer, and a lock doesn't stop theft.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 8
- Safety listing (20%)
- 9
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- Roster-verified: the CA DOJ lists model 110149 as a certified cable lock
- Maker says it fits most pistols, handguns, rifles, shotguns and modern sporting rifles
- High-visibility green for instant verification (maker)
- Two keys included
Where it falls short
- A cable lock disables the gun but does not stop someone carrying it off; a locked container does both
- Keyed only, so the key has to be stored as carefully as the gun
- 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you need fast access to a defensive handgun; a quick-access safe keeps it ready and locked.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown 15 in. Cable Gun Lock
Which pick for which new owner
| Their situation | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| First handgun, apartment or likely to move | V-Line Top Draw XD | Battery-free lock; cable or bracket options instead of floor bolts |
| First handgun, owns the home | Fort Knox Original Pistol Box | Heaviest published steel here; four anchor holes for bolting down |
| Prefers a keypad | GunVault MV500 | Keypad made to be worked by touch, plus a backup key |
| First rifle or shotgun | SecureIt Fast Box 47 | 14-gauge long-gun box that mounts under a bed, in a closet or on a wall |
| Carries or travels with a compact pistol | Hornady Lock Box XL or Vaultek LifePod 10 | Portable, cable-tethered and on California's roster |
Mechanical or electronic lock?
This is the choice a new owner is least likely to have thought about. A mechanical push-button lock, like the Simplex locks on the V-Line and Fort Knox boxes, needs no batteries at all. A keypad needs its batteries kept fresh: GunVault suggests changing the MV500's at least every 6 months. Our explainer on electronic vs mechanical safe locks covers the trade-offs in full.
Four questions to answer before you buy
- Handgun or long gun? Everything on this list except the SecureIt box is for handguns.
- How big is the gun? Ask for the make and model, then compare it with the maker's fit. The CA DOJ roster lists the GunVault MV500 for firearms up to 10.5 in. long, 6 in. wide and 2 in. high. Vaultek sizes the LifePod 10 for handguns up to 7.75 in. long. Hornady says the Lock Box XL fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers.
- Where will it live? A box that will be bolted into a closet or under a shelf can be heavier. A renter, or someone who moves often, is better served by a box with a cable or bracket option.
- Are there children in the home? Then fast access for the owner has to come with a lock a child can't work out. Keys and codes need the same care as the gun. Our guide to storing guns safely with kids covers the whole routine.
A few gifting tips
- Include a gift receipt. Fit depends on the gun, which you may not have seen.
- Mention the mounting. The Fort Knox box has four pre-drilled 3/8 in. anchor holes and no cable. The Top Draw XD's bracket and cable are sold separately, per V-Line.
- Batteries. The LifePod 10 takes a 9V battery that isn't included, so tuck one in the box. The mechanical boxes need none.
What they'll need later
A first storage device is a starting point. As a collection grows, most of it belongs in a larger safe with an independent burglary listing, and our best gun safes ranking starts there. If you're shopping for someone who already owns guns and a safe, see our gifts for gun owners instead.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best gift for a new gun owner?
Do new guns come with a lock?
Is a lock box or a gun safe better for a first handgun?
Is a cable lock a good gift for a new gun owner?
Are fingerprint gun safes a good gift?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best handgun safesEvery handgun safe we rank, mechanical, keypad, RFID and biometric.
- How to store guns safely with kidsLayered storage, keys and codes, and what CAP laws require.
- Trigger lock vs gun safeWhat a lock prevents, what a safe prevents, and when each is enough.
- Gifts for gun ownersStorage and care gifts for someone who already owns a safe.
- Best mechanical pistol safesBattery-free pistol boxes, including both of our top gift picks.
Receipts
Sources
- 18 U.S.C. 922(z) — Secure gun storage or safety device (Cornell LII)
- 18 U.S.C. 921(a)(34) — Definition of secure gun storage or safety device (Cornell LII)
- California DOJ — Firearm Safety Device FAQs
- Project ChildSafe (NSSF) — Homepage (free gun locks figure)
- Project ChildSafe — Get a Safety Kit
- RAND — Personal Firearm Storage in the United States (Ramchand, 2022)
- CPSC — Warning on Stack-On biometric gun safes (January 30, 2025)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.